SkiMe

By SkiMe

50 Shades of Sweat

and 'Born 2 Bike'

I've shot this photo a lot times over the years, but don't remember the 'Born 2 Bike' decal, which must be new.

My first climb of the year and I am still suffering two days on.  Not sure if just coming down with the flu, water in the ears or if something more serious from over exertion and then playing with the kids in the pool later that afternoon. A trip to the doctor is in store for Tomorrow I thinks...

Somehow I feel younger being silly and jumping multiple times from the high dive.  The kids love it... CC made me hop like a Bunny. I did the egg roll, swan dive, back flip, jack knife, flying eagle, twist and on and on... ha.

Anyway, the ride was good.  I really love this ride from an esthetic point of view, and the variety.  I know all the curves by heart, but it doesn't get old.  Starting out by the seaside and slowly working up the mountain passing from the rich skunky mediterranean vegetation down below up into the scrub oaks, chestnuts and pine trees on top.  Today further up there was still quite a bit of Yellow junipers in bloom and also the frilly chestnut tree blossoms.  Then back down again the other side and down to the seaside again.  The last good bit is through a seaside town and then along the coast and then the final stretch on the rails-to-trails boardwalk by the beach.

I waited an extra hour in bed before leaving thinking that the temperature would be too cool up top, which was a mistake.  It was already very muggy by 8 am and so it was a real slog going up.  It had rained over night and everything was drenched with water including the road.  I really didn't mind that much.  The climb was slow (avoiding leg cramps and photographic opportunities?) and I was cautious on the ride down due to the slick pavement, but it just felt wonderful to be out on the bicycle.

A few extras from the climb up and a passenger from the first photo-op who I thought was just a piece of grass. :)  Look for all the water droplets on the flowers, juniper and chestnut tree blossoms...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.