Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Saturday 24th June 2017

Back round the M25 again to Tiptree after the brief stay at my flat. Mum and I both felt very down all afternoon. I think she picked up my low spirits after the latest nagging note from my neighbour about my garden.

We didn't really want to go out in the evening, but had promised Mum's friend Hazel that we'd give her a lift to a performance at St. Luke's by the Tiptree Choral Society. As often happens on these occasions, we were really glad we went along. The choir were sounding great, with a lovely balance of voices, and the music really gave us a lift. I particularly enjoyed their abridged concert version of The Armed Man by Karl Jenkins, which is a Mass for Peace commissioned for the Millenium. Here are links to versions of two of the movements, which moved me to tears https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=C5BfirqTqm8

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=7dIOLbwZJDs

In the interval, both we and Hazel won prizes in the raffle draw - we swapped our gift pack of three different teas with Hazel's bottle of Pinot Grigio white wine. I think we came out best in that exchange!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.