Visitors to my shed

I was painting the inside window frames of my new shed today when I noticed this lovely Scarlet tiger moth on the outside of the glass. It's been a great year for them in my garden, with at least eight emerging so far from caterpillars in the comfrey or foxgloves. Shortly afterwards, I spotted a splendid parasitic wasp, this time on the inside of the glass. This might be Pimpla rufipes, but I think the ovipositor is too long. Finally, I noticed something caught up in a spider's web on the shed wall - it was a Golden-bloomed grey longhorn beetle, Agapanthia villosoviridescens, sadly already dead - see extra photos. I haven't even started moving my natural history books, microscopes and entomological gear into the shed yet, so I'm treating all these visitors as a very good omen.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.