Grumble alert!

Once upon a time, in the West, it was possible to buy what the previous generation were wont to call "Thin Mutton", major use - "Taty Hash".
If I live 'till I die I'll NOT call them "Tatties". 
Follow my logic:-
1. Be honest, would you ask a Greengrocer for a "pound of Potattoes please?"
(I can see NO mention of potatoes below, can you?)
2. "tatty 
adjective informal
a. worn and shabby; in poor condition.
b. of poor quality."

After we moved to Penrith, it seemed they'd all gone posh and it was now called "Breast of Lamb".
...
One step further along the time line and we now see it "Boned and rolled". To make Taty hash you now have to unroll it. NO great hardship, but why roll it ALL? Is a decent Taty hash now extinct?
...
I suppose, boned and rolled it would doofer a Roast.
I spotted some in Cranston's  so it might doofer both up to four times, after I cleft it asunder.
Being only me I lean away from Sunday roast on grounds that it's not worth the hassle for just one AND damnhard to find a one-sized roast anyway.
Behold this week's alternative, displayed as is frequently seen a la Farcebook.
Sweet Chilli stir-fried "Hentitty" 
(Chicken Breast to the rest of polite humanity.) with a glass of Sangiovese left over from a well known "Feed two for a tenner" offers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.