Llygad y dydd

By Charlalaliz

Up in the air

At 5am we made it to Nairobi airport by bus. We still had to wait until 9.50 (i think) for our flight, so had lots of time to waste. But I was so glad to be inside a proper building where I felt safe.

At approx 6am we headed to the restaurant at the far end of the airport - we were all starving. So, as weird as it sounds, we all had burger (mine veggie) and chips at half 6 in the morning! We got a few weird looks.

We then had a look around duty-free where I bought some coffee for my Dad, some shot glasses and some moisturiser for my extremely sunburnt face. - I had a very prominent burn line across my forehead where my hat had been on summit night/day, and my nose/upper lip were tomato-red too.

Eventually we boarded the plane and were on our way back to the UK- I tried to sleep but couldn't because I was thinking too much. I was really sad to be going home but at the same time excited to see everyone again. This image was taken out of the window of the plane - I loved the views.

We touched down in Heathrow at approx 5pm and i met my auntie in the airport - she was waiting for me and I was so happy to see her. I said farewells to the rest of the group and headed out to my auntie's car, where I almost fell asleep straight away. She could tell I was absolutely knackered so I was invited to stay at her house and drive back home the following day.

It was so nice to have proper food and drink, a bath, and a comfy bed - felt like luxury! I did get jokes about my sunburn off the family though...which were well deserved.

It felt good to be back in the UK :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.