Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Another one for the wall...

I've long had a hankering for a set of three nautical wall prints, each about 3ft x 2ft and on my travels I try to seek out and take suitable subjects.  The Island Queen impressed me the first time I saw a Blip of it as did the Salen Wrecks on Mull.  I now have two of my three prints.  

My third print may be one from the wrecks in the harbour at Bowling, just off the A82 Great Western Road.  Trouble is after I've got myself into a comfortable position in the unforgiving, fast moving snakes of traffic on the A82 I'm always reluctant to take a detour when the escape route of the Erskine Bridge and the motorways south are only minutes away.  One day I'll have to bite that bullet.  

All I can find out about the Tayinloan wreck, Island Queen is that she was built in Orkney in 1972 and registered as (Kirkwall) K20.  By January 2012 she was decommissioned, presumably around the time she was wrecked.  At that time she carried registration KY15 - but was that Kirkcaldy.  There are photos of her in St Andrews in 2009 so she was sold north after that. Seems unusual that there seems to be no local media reports of her demise at Tayinloan.  Perhaps not surprising in these days when 'news gathering' seems to rely upon locals phoning it in!

There are three boats up at Salen on Mull.  The one I photographed in the extras  - showed the name 'Mint' under the paintwork.  Apparently she was also 'Wistaria OB327' and 'Starosta BF300'.  She worked out of Burghead at one time as a prawn boat.  Her last name was Elsie May.  She was built by Watt of Banff about 50 years ago.  The other two boats lying at the pier are 'Pavonia WK53' ,  (alongside), a 1955 Patterson built boat also of Banff and behind her is 'Girl Claire B8' built in Fraserburgh in 1957.


So this is what I did today...  researched (and continuing to do so) information on Scottish shipwrecks where there are accessible visible remains.  

LOOKS BETTER IN THE EXTRA SHOT

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.