snstephen

By snstephen

chocolate croissant

I began today walking between bus shelters to avoid the rain, certain that the big challenge would be finding things to do. When it is raining and you have no money there aren't a huge number of options, especially when the libraries and galleries aren't yet open. So I church hopped and bus shelter hopped, abandoning (or so I thought) my plan to walk to the Papal Cross in Phoenix Park. I thought for a long time today that my photo would be of rainfall . . .

But the rain did stop while I was at a bus shelter within a stones throw of the Museum of Modern Art and so, with a quick visit, the day began to fill out.

I had lunch at Brother Kevin's soup kitchen and sat chatting for a while to a lovely man called Thomas who gave me some good tips about food in the evenings (something that I have been most worried about). Again there was a sense of no-judgement acceptance, something that isn't always the case in our modern world.

This morning I was worried about not having anything to do, but as things turned out the day was full of great richness - from the beautiful religious art at the Chester Beatty library to the wonderful choir singing compline at St Patrick's Cathedral. As I came out from compline the clouds had risen and I realised I had at least 2 hours before any prospect of food and so I decided to complete my walk to the Papal Cross (the picture of the day). I stood on the spot where Pope John Paul II said mass in front of 1 million people and looked out over the expanse of park and there was a stunning silence, interrupted only by the occasional sound of birds. It was a moment of sheer bliss - space, emptiness, but so full. Even the park's wild deer made an appearance. God felt very close.

I walked back into town, by this stage very hungry and not sure if food would be where I expected it. But thankfully the folk from North Dublin Outreach were there with their street stall. I can't remember being so grateful for something to eat, including a rather lovely chocolate croissant (left overs from some cafe or supermarket). I had a cup of tea, a home-made sandwich and a good chat with one of the volunteers. It was a perfect end to the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.