Prisoner 24601

By Alfin

G.I. Bride

I'm using privatised transport this week (on and off) - stressful(!) - and one of my stops is Partick station.

Today's Blip is the sculpture of Glasgow artist Bud Neill's GI Bride at the foyer of the building.

The character appeared from time to time in Bud's brilliant and surreal 'Lobey Dosser' cartoon strip. The baby under her arm is called Ned. The Bride's back story is quite funny - she married an American GI (geddit?) and moved to Arizona for a new life, but it was a rubbish existence and so she was ofetn depicted trying to thumb a lift back to Glasgow, uttering just one word - "Pertick".

I'm sure there are other sculptures dotted around the city of the cartoon strip's characters. Might make it a wee mission over the summer to locate them.

Meanwhile, the train I'm waiting on has been cancelled. Again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.