Kaleidescopic Headache

Given the wet and windy conditions outside today it was a bit of relief to realise that it was an abstract thursday challenge and I could safely shoot away indoors. I was wandering round in the dining room and eventually my eyes fell on one of our larger straw table mats that we use for serving dishes. It's simple two tone abstract design appealed. I shot a single frame or so I thought with my iPhone. However, it turned out that I had shot in slow-mo and as this is a video format it is possible to extract individual still frames. Having played with blending some of these frames together I thought why don't I go the whole hog and introduce some movement of my own using the liquefy filter. The geometrical pattern of the original enabled me to follow a rigorous spiral route and seems to create something which is almost 3D and definitely very disconcerting to the eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.