If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Small Heath.

We awoke to a pleasant day, not too warm for walking but sunny.  After the traditional bacon buttie we headed off for the RSPB Bempton Cliffs reserve.  As I mentioned there were no signs of Puffins feeding young.  A certain amount of coming and going but no shots of Puffins with fish in their mouths.

There were of course plenty of other birds and wildlife to keep us occupied.  As we walked along the private path from the caravans to the cliffs there were fledgling Swallows on the fence - very trusting letting us get quite close.  A Kestrel hovered over the cliffs which had hundreds sorry thousands of Guillemots, Gannets, Razorbills and of course the Puffins.

As we made our way along to the visitors centre the grass was alive with butterflies.  I think somewhere in the region of 15 species have been recorded on the cliffs.  One species I wasn't familiar with and they seemed to be everywhere.  Finally I managed to get one stationary long enough for a shot.  I have more or less decided it is a Small Heath.  However if you know better do tell me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.