snstephen

By snstephen

taking time to notice

Today has been a useful reminder of what this is all about, or why I am doing this (the questions I asked myself half-way through the day).

Things started well, with a slow walk along the canal to kill an hour before a pre-planned visit and in that hour I noticed many different types of wildlife: what looked like a pike, lurking in the reeds; a heron sitting on the bank; ducks paddling away in the water and, best of all, a fish jumping out the water in an attempt, I assume, to catch a fly. It was all pretty idyllic (despite the occasional floating bottle or can).

And then, meeting over, I headed into the city centre and began pacing around 'looking for God'. But of course, that is not how it works, and it was only after a few frustrated hours and the questions - what was I doing - that I caught on to what today was actually about.

I realised that the pointer for the day had been given early on and, as a result, I slowed down again and began to notice what was happening around me - and so I popped in to the little parish hall/community centre that I caught a glimpse of out of the corner of my eye and had a good chat with one of the volunteers, I smiled at people and they smiled back and then, as I ambled along, I came across a beautiful rose garden and took the picture of the day. So nothing dramatic, no great revelations, but simply finding God in things that might otherwise have passed me by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.