Keeping an Eye on Me

This was day 10 on the roof. I spent the whole day nailing the horizontal battens in place - around about 400 large nails. Now I've finished that stage so next is putting the metal roof in place - the end of side 1 is insight!
With all that hammering there was a lot of noise throughout the day.  This thrush is sitting on eggs just a few meters away and seemed to more-or-less ignore all my activities, though when I looked at the nest she was usually keeping an eye on me.
When I started work on the roof I noticed an agitated thrush which chattered angrily at me as it flew away and back to the tree. After a while the chattering stopped and I wondered if the thrush had given up and gone. Now I see she had merely got used to me and had no intention of giving up her nest in which she has probably already raised a first brood.
PS We were out till 1 this morning so it's a two blip day for me. Yesterday's tiled stove is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.