monochrome

By monochrome

Sunshine on Leith

Took a wander up Calton hill this lunchtime with the hope of exploiting some of that lovely light that we had today. The air was nice and crisp and allowed for relatively speedy walking up the steep approach to the top without necessarily getting too sweaty.
I'm not exactly sure what the building in the centre of the photo is, however I know that the Gardyloo used to berth in the dock in front of it. I don't know where it's gone to, however it used to be a staple of the docks when I was wee. My grandad used to take me for a drive around the docks of a Saturday afternoon. He was in the merchant navy and grew up in Leith, and so he'd tell me stories of what the docks were like in their heyday and point out things of interest, however I'd always insist on seeing the Gardyloo. I'd like to think it was the nice red & white hull that attracted me to it, however I think the idea of a big boat that took everyone's shit out to dump at sea was what really fascinated me :)

As a side note, although it's common to see folk standing outside the shops on Princes Street reading, I've never seen someone walking along at full pelt engrossed in a book. What an utterly strange thing to do - Princes Street is hard enough to traverse while paying full attention, never mind while trying to read a book at the same time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.