Food, Travel and Whimsey

By Fetch

Books

I finally finished "The Great Gatsby" today. It's 172 pages and it's taken me about six months to read. Even for me that's slow going. Partially it's because I don't get the time to read any more. Increasingly I'm having to carve time out of my day for reading and there are the competing distractions of radio, television and the internet to contend with. And I'm no longer making any long bus journeys which used to be my time for reading. One of my Resolutions for the year was to set aside an hour a day to read. This hasn't happened. I'll try harder in the future...maybe.
But also I'm dyslexic (I believe the phrase classically and severely may have been used at one point) and reading is 'difficult' and represents significant investment of time and effort.
But I keep buying books... Of all the books pictured I've only finished Gatsby. Moby Dick I've been reading since before the Millennium.
Apparently there are people who read 60 books a year. I'm, frankly, amazed by this statistic. I consider I'm doing well if I've managed a quarter of that.

Sorry I don't find writing about dyslexia easy. I'm experiencing this from the 'inside' so I've no point of reference as to what not being dyslexic is like.

I may come back to this with some more coherent thoughts but for now it's getting late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.