yvonnekgray

By Dollykgray

Clouded Border Moth.

It took me ages to identify this handsome moth that alighted on the lettuce in the garden this afternoon. It is really tiny and sat quite still then disappeared underneath the lettuce. It usually hides during the day so I must have disturbed it when Hubby and I were looking under things searching for slugs. I was very annoyed when I found that the slugs had eaten the anemone buds. We found one which was rather striking (for a slug) - black with silvery grey stripes. Normally we have the really ugly brown ones. We didn't admire it for long as I think it - or one of its mates - had been slowly demolishing the basil as well. We found one the other day under a plant which I can't identify and thought I might be able to when it flowers. There has been no sign of flowers so the slugs may have demolished them. too. Last year they got stuck into the Gazania buds.
I tried coffee grounds and beer traps to control them to no avail. In the absence of the recommended non poisonous toads and snakes or ducks to eat them I have strewn a bit of Hubby's coarse sand around for the time being. Any one got a spare Toad House? I like how there is also an article on the same page on how to get rid of garden toads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.