Rainbow Day

This fellow was sitting on a bench downtown, meticulously beading this intricate colorful image. So what's the story, I asked. "Well, I usually leave it up to the viewer", he replied, "but that's me sitting there doing my art, and that's my girlfriend who just landed behind me."  Three other people gathered around as we were talking. "Art," he said, "is about creating community. Wherever people make art, they come together. The world needs this."

Further along on the sidewalk was my favorite accordion player, The Great Morgani, dressed in a suit made of oilcloth printed all over with giant yellow lemons. A little girl dances to his upbeat Beatles tune.  People coming together, brightening the world, one bead, one note, at a time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.