ladyleah6

By ladyleah6

Parrot Refuge

Stopped at the Parrot Refuge in Coombs today en route to Campbell River. Quite the experience.

From the outside and even the inside, it doesn't seem like much. The "gardens" were just dirt with some rusting car parts. The "ticket office" was a big shed filled untidily with antiques which were for sale (I'm not a fan of antique stores. Bad childhood memories or something). The actual aviaries were just big sheds with many birds flying free and a few in cages scattered about. To be honest, it didn't impress from an aesthetic point of view.

However, the story (?stories) behind the refuge is quite impressive and sad. The refuge houses over 800 parrots. They have all been given up by or confiscated from their previous owners and have been contracted to the refuge for the remainder of their lives. Many have been mistreated, some appallingly so. The refuge runs on volunteers and donations and it's expensive to keep 800 parrots happy and healthy.

I was not really too impressed with the refuge at first. I'm a big parrot fan and I found it a little distressing to be there. However, as I came to realise the amazing work that the refuge does, my feelings changed. Still, I would love for them to be able to make the place a little "prettier". For the parrots' benefit and also to attract more tourists and funds.

I wish I'd taken more pics of the less healthy looking parrots while I was there- parrots often self-mutilate when stressed. Unfortunately at the time I was just trying to capture some pretty pics.

Crazy long entry. Thanks for reading this far. I don't keep any other journal so really I just wrote that for myself to look back on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.