YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Summer Of Love

The year was 1967 and I was 14.  It was an exciting time to be young - great music and great fashion.  In America thousands of young people converged in San Francisco preaching peace and love and the hippie movement was born.  I was hooked.

Sadly, living in the north east of England it wasn't quite as easy being a flower child.  I remember telling my mam that I was going to a love-in (really just a concert in a field) and I was promptly banned from attending.  If I'd said I was going to concert in a field I would have been allowed to go but because I used the word love-in my mam thought I was going to some sort of orgy.  

Even after all these years I still feel a bit cheated so 50 years later I have bought myself these CD's so I can listen to the music of the time and pretend I am at the love-in.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.