You have been warned....

DO NOT LOOK AT EXTRA IF YOU ARE SQUEAMISH.
lol - I know, I know - now you want to look....

Up and out early, down to Awesome Walls Liverpool to observe another provider's First Aid course. It's a different organisation and not a regulated course - but I know and respect Allan so I was keen to see a different version of the same thing.
A lot of similarities to how I hope my eventual style will develop, with PowerPoint, videos, chats and quizzes all complimenting a mostly hands on, discussion led process. The sign of a good course is that the day flew by and everyone had questions.
It was interesting, and hugely informative, to see Al adapt the urban space to suit outdoor requirements - and I was very pleased to see that two of his scenarios pretty much echo mine - though I probably won't have a drunken passer—by or exploding car! As ever I picked up a couple of top tips and gave one back, it's a fine line when it's someone else's course, but a nice open style meant a lot of shared learning from me and the other observer was encouraged - I'll certainly be opening my courses up to other providers if the opportunity arrives. Everyday should be a school day - especially for the instructor.

Clockwise we have;
Major laceration and suspected pelvic injuries from fall from height. Stop the bleeding, keep him still. Get help fast.
Violent amputation from arborist activities. Required use of improvised tourniquet and sterile capture. Get help fast.
Unconscious diabetic. Not drunk, conduct a survey, don't go through the motions. This chap had a bracelet, glucose tablets and a gel pack. Revived after 6:10.
A lot of time can be lost on playacting, but it does have its place and does make sure that training is real. Back to the Halloween store for me.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.