The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Good news/bad news

I went out quite late to my local patch for a bit of hare watching - but before I got there I saw this hedgehog on the verge. The fact he was out in daylight wasn't a good sign - and when I looked more closely I saw he had a terrible tick infestation, so I've brought him home. He tucked into a big pile of mealworms and after he had a bit of a rest I set to with the tick remover tool. I removed 15 ticks and one flea. There are plenty more little ticks on him which I'll remove as soon as they're big enough.

He's only a youngster (270 grams) - if his poos look healthy I'll just look after him until I've managed to get rid of all the ticks and return him near to where I found him. But if his poos show signs of infection then I'll need to take him to the hedgehog hospital for medication.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.