Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Curious Tuis

Because there has been no sugar water out during the two days of heavy rain we have just had, the tuis have been making up for lost time today. The tree has been full of them - or it has seemed like it.

Today a couple of tuis decided to investigate the feeder where I put out seed for the  smaller birds. They were all over it, checking the contents ( which they don't eat), peeking under the tray to see it there are any tui goodies for them, swinging and climbing on the frame.

After that they came onto the deck and feasted in the winter sweet which is flowering right now. Best of all, they gave me a demonstration of their repertoire in song .

All I had to do was sit on a chair in the doorway with the camera and be entertained. It wasn't a lot of help with getting my book completed though.

The main blip is one of the tuis checking out the seed bowl. Because the best of their colouring is seen from behind, I chose this one to show the front for a change. I have put in a couple of extras showing the colour lit up by the sun as the birds play around the feeding tray.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.