GracieG

By GracieG

Hotel de Paris

What do you do on a gloomy afternoon in Cromer?  Answer…the cinema of course!  B and I went to see ‘Hampstead’ a gentle and heartwarming film, while M went to see ‘Baby Driver’…altogether more action-packed and apparently with a brilliant sound track.
 
B and I had a few minutes to dash to the seafront with our cameras afterwards and I was rather struck by the beautiful stained-glass windows in the grandly named ‘Hotel de Paris’.  This hotel was built in 1891 on the site of a previous incarnation which the owner Alex Jarvis had had demolished and then asked the architect George Skipper to design the current building.  George Skipper also designed the wonderful ‘Royal arcade’ in Norwich, see Bom’s blip www.blipfoto.com/entry/2327856512430506458
I don’t think I’m being unkind to say that the hotel may have had its heyday but nevertheless still commands attention, partly because of its imposing position on the cliff top overlooking the pier.  The receptionist kindly allowed me to go into the dining room to take a photo.  Most of the hotel guests appear to be elderly and indeed my aunt and uncle stay for a week every summer, apparently it is excellent value.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.