snstephen

By snstephen

Connections

I spent this morning being shown around Drimnagh, a working class suburb of solid 1930's council houses (now mostly privately owned), by a man who had lived there for over 75 years. It is the first time I have had the privilege of a guided tour on my pilgrimage and it was a great way to do it. 

I was introduced not only to the history and sites but also to a wide range of people - over tea after mass, in the day centre and on the streets as we walked round. If I was to choose one word to describe the experience, it would be 'community'. It is a place of lifelong connections, something increasingly rare nowadays, with some of those I spoke to arriving in the area all those decades ago as the first occupants of their home. 

It was also good to see the part the church still plays in the life of the community, with crucial support provided for both the community centre, with its various clubs, and the day centre, catering for about 60 residents in their 70s, 80s and older. 

The photo for today is not from Drimnagh, however, but was taken right in the city centre. It was an image I couldn't resist - here's me tramping the streets of Dublin looking for God, only to be told God is in (rather than on) the TV. How wrong the graffiti artist is though. But I can accept that 'God is active in the goodness, kindness and generosity of so many people' doesn't work quite so well on a wall . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.