If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Skelton Show Day.

Being Saturday and the Lodge being fully booked it was my job to do the prep on my own as Clickychick was at the show with her stand.  Fortunately the departing guests were, on time, left a wonderfully clean Lodge and being only 3 didn't have as many beds to change.

This meant I could get along to the show ground in time to enjoy 2 or 3 hours before it closed.  Because of the subject I was trained in I do like a show that has good cattle lines and other stock.  I also try to get a ringside position for the grand parade when all the top winners of all stock enter the ring.

At Skelton they don't try to parade sheep so the parade is cattle and horses.  The horses included everything from the Heavy horses (Clydesdales) through to the miniature Shetlands.  Just before it reached where I was standing this little guy decided to throw a "strop".  It only lasted a few seconds but I was quite pleased with this shot.  To give some idea of scale the rein is being held a little above waist height.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.