SarahSmith

By SarahSmith

Time waits for no [wo]man

What happens to a dream deferred? Does it dry up Like a raisin in the sun?... Or does it explode?
Langston Hughes

I have decided to defer. After three years of slogging I'm taking a year out. I'm fed up with being paralysed by procrastination. I could write a 10,000 word dissertation but I just don't want to. Instead I want to bugger off to Barcelona with Steve at a moments notice or enjoy a weekend with friends or head out on the South Downs for a walk and a pub lunch or meet up with friends and not feel guilt because I should be getting on with my work. For the cost of the final year I could buy a full-frame camera.

At 51 I don't need a degree in Photographic Art for a career move. But I do need the time to develop the projects I have waiting in the wings.

Thank you to everyone who advised me otherwise... but I've finally - after much flipping back and forth - decided to defer (it has less of a final ring to it). That makes me happy.

Since I made the decision yesterday I've gone down with a cold and I now feel as rough as a bag of chisels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.