memento

By memento

The Lives of Others

Right on cue, the sun came up this morning and took a thirty second rest on the telephone pole. It's hard work making your way back south.

In my world, there isn't anything significantly different than yesterday, or the day before. How lucky for me. Of course, with the day still being so young...

Not so lucky for the neighbors, whose dimwit contractor did an inferior job of tarping their house on Friday which let yesterday morning's rain seep through the demolished upstairs, the ceilings, the downstairs walls and underneath the flooring in the basement. It destroyed their small haven to the point where they have to move out (furniture and all) for the insurance company to bring in huge heaters, fans and dehumidifiers to dry the place out before damage can be assessed. I know, at least they have homeowners insurance and family locally that they can stay with. It just brings up the question again that I always have, which is: why does crappy crap always happen to nice people?

It is proper cleaning day here since I don't have any project due and have part of my energy back, which brings up another question I always have, which is: why do I bother cleaning if it's just going to get dirty again?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.