July 4, 1950

Dear Diary,

I am on a real nostalgia trip lately.  Must be the photo album I'm making with all the old photographs.  I discovered this one of my mother and father fishing at Lake George in upstate New York the other day.  When I turned it over the date, "July 4, 1950" was written on it!  It is somewhat fuzzy and faded but there is something about this image that I just love.  I guess it is their relaxed pose and the way they don't look at the camera, lost in their own world.

I was just a year old when this was taken; my brother nearly four.  I am sure they were enjoying some time away from their young family.  They might also have been discussing moving to Massachusetts.  We would move to our new house in Hudson the following year.

They both loved to fish and taught my brother and I later.  My brother liked it, I did not.  I refused to put a worm on the hook and used bread balls instead.  Needless to say, I didn't catch many fish which pleased me actually.  I was a softy when it came to animals even way back then.

I am having my friend restore and enlarge this image...it is only about 2"X4".  For some reason this image just captivates me. I will put the small one in the album but keep the enlarged version on my dressing table.  This is the way I want to remember my parents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.