Blipper, circa 1944

The last few days have been busy ones and there's more to come. One of my tasks has been doing a bit of sorting out at mum's while she gets herself settled in a new place.

One of the things I happened upon today was a box of old family photographs ranging from (probably) the 1920s to some truly awful 1970s efforts. They'll not be seeing the light of day on blip or anywhere else I can tell you.

Anyway, today's blip is mum in the WRNS. She joined up towards the end of the war at age 17. She was a photographer in the Fleet Air Arm. This photograph of her was taken in Bognor Regis though she was actually stationed much nearer home, across the Forth in Fife. Oddly, the mother of one of my very best friends whom I met when we were both 18 was also stationed there. We heard the same stories throughout our childhoods but didn't get the chance to compare till we were students in Aberdeen.

Mum has always had good stories to tell of her time in the WRNS so when I see her in a day or two I'll ask her about this massive camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.