Dragon in Miniature

The Tiny Tuesday challenge set by Holliegirl was to post something small which is usually much larger.  I haven't come across many dragons in my life, but I'm guessing they're generally bigger than this, or why would gallant knights need to rescue fair maidens from their clutches?  Which puts me in mind of my favourite children's hymn:

"When a knight won his spurs, in the stories of old,
He was gentle and brave, he was gallant and bold.
With a shield on his arm and a lance in his hand,
For God and for valour he rode through the land.

No charger have I, and no sword by my side,
Yet still to adventure and battle I ride,
Though back into storyland giants have fled,
And the knights are no more and the dragons are dead.

Let faith be my shield and let joy be my steed
'Gainst the dragons of anger, the ogres of greed,
And let me set free with the sword of my youth,
From the castle of darkness, the power of the truth."
(Jan Struther).

I guess this train of thought started because I spent the day patrolling outside St Walburga's RC school.  I had to Google the name and was surprised to find that she was a) English and b) female.  She is invoked against hydrophobia and thunderstorms.  So there you are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.