RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Resupply

I stop by this bolillo stand every time I visit the market, which is pretty much every other day. I have been buying these yummy small baguettes since arriving in Mexico. I originally purchased them from a wandering vendor but after we moved to the beach I have been buying them here. They are baked somewhere else in town so the ideal time to buy is immediately after they are freshly delivered, as was the case this morning. Nothing better than a hot bolillo.

From Wikipedia: Bolillo, a type of savory bread traditionally made in Mexico. It is a variation of the baguette, but shorter in length and is often baked in a stone oven. Brought to Mexico City in the 1860s by Emperor Maximilian’s troupe of cooks, its use quickly spread throughout the country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.