Skomer

Wow!  What a day.  It more than made up for our abortive trip to the Farne Islands a few weeks ago.

We went with a professional guide, Drew Buckley,  who took us to all the best spots to see the puffins.  To be honest it's hard to take a shot without a puffin.  They are absolutely everywhere and have no fear of humans so it was possible to get my wide angle lens within a few inches of this chap.

Drew was fantastic and gave us loads of tips how to photograph them.   Catching them in flight is really difficult but with his advice I found my technique steadily improving through the 1300 images I took.  It's just taken ages to skim through them in Lightroom to find some good ones.   

We saw a rare instance of a gull catching and carrying off a Puffling chick that had ventured outside its burrow.  (No photo I'm afraid)

A couple of extras show some classic puffin poses

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.