Intelligent key

Today, for the first time in my life, I had to go and get a new battery in my car key fob.   For example, my last car I had for three years.  Never a fob problem.  This car is less than two years old.

For the last couple of days, when I have tried to start the car I have got a message "Key ID incorrect".    

What's going on?   An Intelligent Key does a great deal.   It can stay in your pocket permanently.   You can open the doors as long as the key is with you.   And as long as the key is inside the car, press a button on the dashboard, the engine starts and off you go.      It's more intelligent than I am!

But part of that relationship between the car and the key is that every few minutes the car says to the key "are you still there?"    And the key replies "yes I am!".    It's to protect the car from thievery!    I was told this by the bright young man at the dealer's service desk.

So the battery had gone flat!     No wonder, the poor thing works overtime every day.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.