River Greet

How do you find an answer when the
drip, drip, drip of relentless rain
takes you more than an hour
to decipher the flow from your still sodden brain versus your broken heart.

It started so easily, so matter of fact,
yet within days you were immersed
in a tunnel of love that consumed your every thought, every intention, every hand signal.

I wouldn't have minded but stuck here
in my shark infested boat
my mind was on more
than your self infatuation
and blown up ego.

Forgive me but did I blink
and miss the time
you stopped me falling
into an abyss of choiceless stanzas
that flow and ebb around the brain
as easy as walking up a mountain
wearing nothing but stilts?

Oh no, that never happened.

Excuse while I get my coat.
Yours remains with the others
marked self righteous tosser.
Enjoy the ride.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.