Love

My bounty is as boundless as the sea,
My love as deep. The more I give to thee,
The more I have, for both are infinite.
- Romeo and Juliet (Act 2:Sc 2) - Shakespeare

Today would have been Mum and Dad's 65th wedding anniversary.  1952, same year as the Queen's coronation. There is still rationing on food and clothing and mum's dress came via all kinds of swapping and saving coupons. The wedding breakfast was provided via various ration booklet sacrifices and, from some photos I found, seems to have included a lot of buttered bread. Mum was 20, Dad 22.  This portrait was hand coloured from the original black and white photo - which seems to have been a popular technique.  Bro and I will raise our glasses at 9pm, as we always do, apart or together, on such anniversaries. 

Today was a hot one. They reckon about 30ºC.  A morning of delicious laziness, an afternoon shopping and errands in Chelmsford High Street.  Early evening in front of the TV watching Wimbledon, eating left overs from last night's Indian. Yummy.

The quote was one that my mother wrote inside the cover of a book she gave to my father and always, always, reminds me of their life long love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.