La Fille De Marguerite

Allo, Allo René what do we have here then? This week's theme in the Blip group I take part in is HATS which was proving to be more than challenging. My poor long-suffering girlfriend suggested a play on the surrealist painting by René Magritte called La fils de l'homme or The Son of Man. 

Why not I thought. So whilst she was getting dressed in one of my shirts and trying to tie a tie for the first time in 20 years I popped over to Tesco to get an apple with leaves on to try and recreate the original artwork. Now I know a surrealist wouldn't just want to copy a female version of the picture so I thought a slightly different apple would be in order - a pineapple!

The new title pays homage to the original title by making it a daughter instead of a son and the slight change of Magritte to Marguerite is very fitting as Fi's Mum really is Margaret!

The only photo-shopping on this picture is to remove the stain on a tie from a wayward train trip in the past, other than that, everything is as photographed. I'll leave the secret of suspending a pineapple for you to decide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.