From The Ancient Sea

This morning we stopped at the Moeraki boulders.  These big spheres are concentrated on a stretch of the wind swept beach.  That wind was very cold today so no mucking around for the pictures.  Also the tide was coming in so I couldn't wade out and get down low behind a boulder.  I love the idea that these boulders started forming in what was then marine mud near the surface of the paleocene sea floor 66 million years ago.  They are exposed by coastal erosion.  They consist of mud, fine silt and clay, cemented by calcite.  
No cheese rolls today but a lunch stop at Hampden  proved to be a winner.  Vanessa's cafe is in an old house on the side of the main road.  It had  the most impressive cabinet of homemade food.  We only needed crackers and cheese tonight in our Oamaru motel.  In the late afternoon light I walked the Victorian precinct to see the stone buildings.  Most had shut and there was a lack of people anywhere so I'll try again tomorrow.  
Thank you for the comments on my blips and all those hearts.  Very kind of you and I'm glad you are enjoying my trip as much as I am.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.