Fields of Lavender

C got up around 5 am and took the boys for a walk while I went to sleep. I won't say "I went BACK to sleep" as at that point I had been awake since about 1 am. 
When C returned we ate our breakfasts and then went off to Snowshill Lavender up in the Cotswolds, not far from Broadway. We arrived in time for the opening at 10 am but there were already quite a few people there. It's open only for a few weeks every summer, so inevitably it's going to get crowded. 
When we first arrived we could hear the skylarks singing and watched them for a few minutes before they disappeared.
This house (see 2nd extra) is probably one of the most photographed in the Cotswolds, and has been Blipped on numerous occasions - but it still looks very picturesque behind the lavender. Here's my Blip from last year when our family were visiting (see last year's extra too). That was in August, and the wild flowers are almost over now, so this year appears to be about 3 weeks or more ahead of last year. 
This little boy made his way in amongst the plants, (the sound of the bees must have been deafening in there, as it was very loud from where I was standing).
The other extra is a group of overseas tourists, just before we left. Most of the tourists don't want to walk up the hill and are quite happy to stay down the bottom, but that's ok with me. 
There are quite a few nearby fields that are also growing lavender (you can see one the distance on the 2nd extra) as it's ideal conditions there for it. 
After the first 5 unanimous comments I've now swapped my 2nd extra with the main photo, as the little boy was previously "an extra". 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.