Mile 99

With Rich working from home, even with a forecast of winds picking up, it was too good an opportunity to miss. I headed up the Wharfe valley, turning right at Kettlewell to drop over to Leyburn where I'd planned a scooby stop.

Feeling pretty good, I decided a few more miles and another hill were in my legs before lunch so I trundled over to Reeth with an increasing cross wind (you might just be able to get an idea of the wind from the leaves on the tree in the photo). I was already imagining Kidstones from last weekend but decided one hill at a time. Steady, steady.

Lunch was in a bike cafe where they served up the perfect jacket and coffee. It's made my day getting into Swaledale again. When I did my back in, I had a little niggle sitting on my shoulder telling me I might be on a rocky ride downhill.  Thankfully, that's not the case and it's been a joyous day out.

The route back up past Crackpot was better than I expected. Not exactly easier than expected but the wind wasn't right in my face and the steep sections were manageable once I stuck my tongue out (somehow that does help!)

Another lunch at Aysgarth and a magnificent pot of peppermint tea.

It was at mile 60 that the Fred Whitton Challenge crossed my mind... With Hard Knott at mile 99, maybe I could try the Cow & Calf at mile 99 which would be about right on the route I'd planned today. Easy to say without 39 extra miles in my legs. But the seed was planted. I did a deal with myself that an extra stop at Kettlewell for cake and caffeine meant I'd give it a try. Like a fool, I agreed to it!

It drizzled from just before the top of Kidstones, much of the way home actually, but it wasn't cold. The best part was the wind which must have been a few degrees out from last weekend for me not to be battered on the way over the top. 

I felt pretty good. Slow but good. I was waiting for that queasy tiredness to kick in but it didn't. I have quite low blood pressure so today, I made more of a point of upping my salt intake and taking some extra electrolyte tabs for my water refills. Something worked - I still felt like it was a possibility at Burnsall, and then Ilkley.

Up and over. With quite a bit of effort mind you. It doesn't compare to Hard Knott but it's a start.

So, the psychological preparation seems to have begun. Unwittingly. But it does appear to be lodged in my head. If I do give it a try, it won't be an official event. I just don't enjoy all the people. It'll be good weather and a week day. 

Some time.

Song of the ride: 99 red balloons (no dancing)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.