WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Eye contact

Les Chanteurs du Mont Royal try some Occitan rap -- luckily only briefly. They were directed by Eric Fourcadet, who is a versatile chap because last year he was here with Les Divines, a slick all-female group doing covers of middle of the road pop. I didn't like their repertoire, but I could tell he knows what he's doing when it comes to directing singers. 

I wasn't expecting to be too keen on the show this evening either; a very mixed bag of Basque, Pyrenean, Occitan, Russian, Latin American, and Irish songs, either a capella or with minimal accompaniment. But the eight singers were so good that they made it a real pleasure -- each confident enough to hold his own in close harmony, and fool around a bit as well. Excellent voices, especially the deep bass on the left of this photo and a fine tenor. So I just enjoyed seeing and listening to people taking pleasure in making music really well.

The lighting was of course hopeless -- mixed red and green! So I made most of my photos mono. A few more right from here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.