My 2015

By Clairy

Dementia Lewy Body

I was in two minds about posting this as my blip today but decided that raising awareness of what Dementia does and particularly Lewy Body Dementia was the best of my pictures today.

Lewy Body Dementia like normal dementia strips away at you bit by bit but fluctuates so you can have good periods and bad, it has a term called "Lewy mask" a facial stare that is quite off putting if you don't know it. It's when you know the person is in "Lewy land" very demented and not making any sense.
This week Grandma hearing has deteriorated and she keeps asking Steve and I to do something as she is fed up. I feel so sad for her , once a strong family character to now a weak, frail shell with bits of Grandma on good days.

People often don't visit people with dementia as they feel it's pointless, the lady in her shared room hasn't had a visitor in over ten years and is the most sweetest lady and at 104 does great, she always kisses me when I take time to say hello. I can tell that my hello means a lot to her and takes me no time at all.

The biggest risk to memory loss at this stage is not having memory triggers, they don't have to be in person but things that remind a person of their past. Grandma knows who we are as we see her but seems to have lost all recollection of others and even herself at times. She asks me what was her married name and who her husband was and where is the prime minister.... not from recent years! She has talked to us a lot about her past recently which has been nice to hear but also can distress her as she suddenly recalls elements like war time.

Anyway I think everyone should be a dementia friend so please do look at this link.
{url=]https://www.dementiafriends.org.uk/register-digital-friend]



Sorry that she looks messy with a tea stain on her nightie she had only just done that 15 mins before I took this! She was cleaned up before bed! The care home she is in is such a fantastic place with all the media this week on care homes being in a good one really counts. Grandma has not been as good this week but thanks to great care she maintains her dignity and is treated with utmost compassion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.