Little and Large

Sorry, a slightly parochial comment. Local folk or those intersted in the Scottish mountains will immediately recognise Buchaille Etive Beag (little) and Mor (large). This is the less common view of the hills taken from the south well down Glen Etive, the more popular view being from the A82 in the north as it enters Glencoe.

Moonl Light shot in extras

I was working on the slopes on the south side of the valley and had a most annoying slip and fall into a burn. The river bed at the location is composed of smooth creamy coloured granite. Where dry, it is rough and very grippy to the sole of the boot . On the margins of what is wetted there is a deceptively slippery layer of slimy moss. It actually just looks like darker rock and very benign. Step on it at your peril. I was aware of the hazard and was convinced the one foot on it was sufficiently brief that my momentum and balance would get me to the dry rock abiut 4 feet onward. Nuh!.The foot went sideways and I fell into thefull flow of the water. I briefly thought I was going to get washed down the chute but the extra traction offered by now being on all fours kept me put. I tried to get up and fell again. I effectively crawled out in the end.

The extra is taken near the spot and gives a feel for the texture of the river bed but perhaps not the extreme gradient which allows the water hurtle down unimpeded.
In fact I will post the waterfall below this which was also at the back of my mind.
I have warned the client to advise every one of this deceptively difficult burn crossing.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.