A quick little colour sketch...

...with some colour brush pens and stuff that son bought me yesterday, for my birthday earlier in the week.

One of the last things the negative audiologist said to me on Monday when I'd said I was looking forward to see my son on Friday because I hadn't seen him in a while, was that I wouldn't be able to hear him with this new drastic mapping of the processor. She was emphatic about that.

I hadn't been happy with the earlier negative things she'd said on Monday, because I thought they were over the top. And there was absolutely no need for her to say to me "You won't be able to hear your son or tell what he says with this new mapping." I'd said "He's my son, of course I will be able to work out what he is saying and hear him."

That last comment of her's went too far, and she reiterated it again and again that I wouldn't be able to hear him with this new mapping.

I told son when he arrived on Friday what the negative audiologist had said (I had already texted him the other negative stuff she had said), that she said I wouldn't be able to hear him nor make out one word he was saying to me.

Son's response was "You won't have any problem understanding me. You have been enterprising all your life, doing the impossible. You have come up with tricks and strategies all these years to cope in the hearing world. You look for clues the rest of us don't and you are very good at reading body language, and you will continue to use all these things now. You will hear me."

He went on to say I will be able work out/through all the other stuff the negative audiologist said I wouldn't be able to do. He said I will find a way round it and that I always have. Maybe not doing the conventional route, but that I will be able to utilise whatever hearing sounds I get from this new drastic mapping and processor, and put them to the best possible use combined with all the skills and strategies I have acquired over a lifetime.

And the seed of nervousness that negative audiologist planted in me vanished. I did brilliantly. We did stay out in the open countryside in quiet places to talk. And it was a great confidence building day for me.

We did discuss everything that has happened to me over this, and among other stuff he said, son did remark that it was confusing how negative the audiologist was with me over all this, especially as regards emphatically telling me what I won't be able to do, especially saying that I wouldn't be able to hear him.

Here is a little sketch trying out the art stuff son bought me. So this is my pic for today for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.


We all need to "believe" anything is possible.

Belief gets us over one heck of a lot of hurdles. And it carries us a long way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.