snstephen

By snstephen

Far east

Today's picture was taken at the end of the South Bull Wall, the southern arm of the harbour wall at the mouth of the Liffey. You can just see (in red) the Poolbeg Lighthouse. It was a wonderful walk out along the narrow wall, about 1.5km into the Irish sea. Once again the pic of the day is of street art and I am guessing that you won't get a much more remote or easterly example of it in the city.

I was not in the mood for the pilgrimage today when I started and was grumbling about my breakfast (not the sort of thing I would usually eat) and then worrying about how I was going to feed myself tonight and tomorrow (on Sunday the various places I've being going to are closed). It struck me as I began my walk out to Poolbeg that I had my attitude all wrong. Instead of filling my head worrying about what might or might not come, I should instead be grateful for what I had received - a good, free breakfast and lunch - and trust that something would come my way for the rest of the weekend. 

And with that shift in attitude, the day took on a much brighter aspect. I stopped to ask a guy who was begging on Grafton Street where I might be able to get food tonight and he told me about a place called 'The Lighthouse', which I thought was fitting given the focus of my walk. I couldn't make out from him where it was, but as I continued on I bumped into someone I had been speaking to over lunch last week and he was able to point me in the right direction. 

I ended up at The Lighthouse, after my walk to the lighthouse, and once again I was hugely impressed by the welcome and by the generosity. It is run by Dublin Christian Mission and I spoke to a couple of the volunteers who said they came from different churches and parishes. I got a great meal and then was able to take away some wholemeal crusty bread and a scone, which along with the banana left over from lunch will give me enough tomorrow. I also had a good chat with the two people sitting beside me at dinner, so it was in lots of ways an excellent end to the day.

This morning I was focused on the hurdles and what I didn't have and I ignored the many good things. It's been a good lesson in the power of gratitude and in Providence. Once again, I have been given what I need.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.