Poppies

I went to Mohndorf this morning where the poppy fields are. Last year we got rained out so I decided to go early this time and avoid the storms that were forecast. I had been following the progress of the blooming on their facebook page and they had estimated the best time to be 7 - 10the July. I see from the photos from the last few days that the peak was a bit earlier than expected. There were still plenty around today but a few days earlier would have been spectacular. 
I have uploaded a few extra photos to Flickr. I loved the scarecrow in the crops and the cornflowers amongst the corn. The white and yellow flowers are potato flowers - I had only seen them from a distance and thought they were just white.
The promised thunderstorms were gathering on the way home and I took a photo of the wind turbines in another poppy field against the threatening skies because the light was lovely. 
We had some decent rain but we need so much more. After dropping from 28-30 degrees to 18 degrees, the sun came out and the temperature went back up to 25 degrees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.