Silly Saturday: Iconic Puffin

Not only do these fabulous birds look rather silly, I was very fortunate that this one was silly enough just to stand on a rock with a beakful of sand eels - doing nothing with them! I'm not sure whether he'd forgotten where his nest of chicks was but maybe he had been that silly!

As you may guess we took advantage of the lovely weather for a trip to the Farne Islands with Sons #2&3 and Son #2's partner. We had a lovely day. It also gave me the opportunity to try out the 1.4x teleconverter which I've just acquired for my 300mm Olympus lens (I was lucky enough to buy it in mint condition from a fellow blipper whose name I won't mention so as to avoid embarrassment). That means the lens is like an 840mm lens on a full-frame camera at a fraction of the weight (and cost!).

(Best viewed large.)

I suspect a flickr album will appear as soon as I've had time to edit some more shots. I was silly enough to take 2367 photos in total (many on rapid fire of course) so it may take a while although I think 95% of them will need to be deleted.

Many thanks to admirer for hosting Silly Saturday :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.