But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Common Frog.

We knew there were still frogs lurking in the garden as I nearly trod on one the other night. I was on my way out to the garage and had a torch with me as squashed slugs on the soles of my shoes make an awful mess of the carpets. It was still a near miss for Froggy.
 
I Googled “frogs” to see if there was anything interesting, first hit was an Ecuadorian headline saying “Boy in Equator finds frog once thought extinct for thirty years.” The article appears to have been translated from our very own “New Scientist” into their native Spanish for local consumption and then back to English for the international press. The original New Scientist article reads a little more intelligently and it appears that the young lad discovered forty three of the little blighters which were immediately taken into custody and forced to breed in the interests of conserving their newly acquired extant status.
New Scientist also claims that frogs may have evolved the World’s first knee-cap, but then again . . . .
 
The second hit claimed that the common frog is one of our most easily recognised amphibian species, though I suspect that it shares this distinction with the common toad with which it is often confused.
 
In another life, today was the day of the biennial hedge trimming; since the hedge extends some forty feet, every passer-by feels compelled to inform me that I have a long job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.