Be Careful What You Wish For

I was daydreaming at the end of a very hot day, listening to the bees in the lavender and hoping for a photo op. "What I want," I said idly, "is to see the dragonfly up close." Early in the morning I'd seen one nearly as big as a hummingbird as I stood at the kitchen sink. They aren't very common here, dragonflies, so I expected I'd have to be content with that glimpse through the window. But no sooner had I articulated my wish than the creature appeared! And then it posed for me on the bridalveil, nicely camouflaged, but still visible.


We are deep into jam making and freezing fruit. Specifically plums, which are dropping like crazy. I've found a couple of interesting jam recipes, one combining the plums with chile and thyme, and another with strawberries and rosemary. Not the best project for a hot day, but very rewarding and fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.