Great Crested Grebe

Another beautiful day - lovely warm weather, hardly a breath of wind and the sun was shining.
Luckily we were in the shade for most of the day under trees at Marbury Country Park.
It was a lovely walk and today I did 10,000 steps for the first time since my accident so I am pretty pleased with myself!  Maybe I will feel it tomorrow, but at the moment my ankle doesn't feel too bad....

We did not see much in the way of birds, apart from a couple of great crested grebes and then the usual swans, ducks and the odd robin. Oh and a sandpiper was all alone at Haydn's Pool, but I couldn't get a very good shot.
There were plenty of butterflies about which pleased me - Comma, Red Admiral, Speckled Wood, meadow brown, large white and what I think was a small copper.
And a few damselflies and dragonflies were buzzing about - extra is a white legged damselfly which I have not seen before.

Oh, and I woke up to the news that my weekly £2 donation to the National Lottery had netted me £98 as I got 4 numbers - first time ever since it started in 1994!!!

So all in all, it's been a great day :)

P.S. For some reason these shots look better in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.