Silver cleaning

I'm on a mission to sort out our silver cutlery.  This has mostly come by inheritance to W.  And there's a little of mine.  But my best cutlery was some bronze and rosewood stuff - which has now been passed on to R and G. 

The silver cutlery was mostly stored, wrapped in paper, in an old icecream carton.  And very tarnished.

So I've been making green baize rolls, and am now gradually cleaning it, and then putting it away in a drawer, all nicely wrapped.  Hopefully it will stay untarnished until we get it out at Christmas, or some other special occasion.

I am not inclined to tackle more than one roll a day - the polish plays havoc with the fingers.  Yesterday it was the large knives and forks.  Today it was teaspoons.  Tomorrow I won't get any done, but on Tuesday I'll do the cake forks and assorted butter knives/cake knives etc.  By then, I'll be more than half way through the task.

We've also today made another step towards the storage of our books.  The bookshelf that was rendered redundant in the study has been sanded, varnished, and carried upstairs into the spare bedroom, ready for filling with some of the books still in boxes.  Getting it into the spare bedroom involved taking the bedroom door off its hinges!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.