Gardening find

No time to ID otherwise I'll be in trouble. Update later.

UPDATE: With huge thanks to AJC for the ID of a large yellow underwing (and he did fly so I did see that too).

I've had a long potter round the moors where a group of people in front of me spotted some black caterpillars with yellow spots (peacock butterflies, I think). Blip.

Once home, I decided a potter in the garden was in order to tidy the triffids and dismantle the ceanothus with a dead hole in the middle. It was there I disturbed the twig caterpillar. Blip.

But it was when I started on the laurel that this rather large moth fluttered out. In the end, it was this one that made my day because I'm always on the lookout for bigger moths (despite this one saying macro moth (which I think actually means big moth (as opposed to micro moths! (Confusing me with a macro lens! (And multiple brackets))))).

I noticed the orange flutter as it headed a little deeper into its disturbed shade and hoped that would make it easier to ID. But thank goodness for helpful Blippers that simplify the job :)

I was cutting it fine to Blip as Liz was round for dinner and the TDF highlights (what a day!) and we've since started on Call the Midwife which is looking like it'll be a good new series to get into.

Lovely restful day and catch-up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.